Gotta Take Care of Momma

I have a very sweet mom

I have a very sweet mom

But those who won’t care for their relatives, especially those in their own household, have denied the true faith. Such people are worse than unbelievers.
1Timothy 5:8
NLT

One of the most touching passages in Scripture is when Jesus delegates over the care of his mother to John.  In spite of His agony on the cross, He focuses on her needs by arranging for her future.  Bottom line ~ Jesus took care of His momma.

A lesson for us.

Some of you no longer have your mom on earth; you would give anything to have her back.  Some have a strained relationship with your mother.  You long to see restoration before it is too late.

For the rest of us, we would do well to follow Christ’s example.  If there is any way possible, we should make every sacrifice possible to look after our mothers or fathers, for as long as we are physically able.

I don’t know what my future holds, but I am trying my best to attend to my mom’s needs.  She took care of me as I grew.  I owe it to her to give back.  I owe it to my dad, because I vowed to look after her when he died.  I also owe it to my Lord.

I think that the account of Christ’s selfless display of love for His mother is in Scripture for a reason.  Taking care of our aged parents should have as much thoughtful priority in our lives.  We don’t love them more than Christ.  However, we don’t love them less than they deserve and He expects.

Caring for our aging parents does need prayer.  For strength, patience and the wisdom to know what is best.  Not unlike what they needed in raising us!

I try to treasure every moment with my mom, because I know that I won’t have her forever down here below.  When I spend time taking care of her, though, I can know that it pleases Christ. 

We gotta take care of momma.  Christ did.

Sue Nash/2013

37 thoughts on “Gotta Take Care of Momma

  1. Jane Bridges

    AMEN!!!! You take care of my Spiritual Mom of 30 years, Sue!!! I love her so much as you already know and you are right, you won’t have her with you forever!! I miss mine ALL the time and especially at holidays!! Missing BOTH of mine this year but at least they are together again!!!!

    Reply
  2. Jane Bridges

    PS: Is your Mom in town??? I have called her several times since Barbara was here and can’t get an answer. (jbridges@fbcj.org.) Thanks..

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Gotta Take Care of Momma | just2bwise

  4. bobby90247

    Hello, Sue!

    You took the words, “…right out of my mouth!!!”

    However, “MY” Mom, threatens to “kick me out of the house”, at least, FIVE TIMES A DAY!

    BUT, that’s “OKAY!” for it tells me she is “still” with me! She’ll be 92 in February, and “YEAH!” I promised my Dad…also!

    Take Care and God Bless!!!

    Reply
  5. gwennonr

    Dear Sue,

    Thank you for this post. It addresses an issue that has recently come up in my own life, though not technically with “my” parents. This was a good reminder that we need to be Christ-like regardless of the cost.

    You are in my prayers and in my thankful prayers.

    Hugs,

    Gwennon

    P.S. Thank you for stopping by my blog. You encourage me more than you know.

    Reply
  6. Kris

    We have seen it coming for the last few years and now suddenly we have two momma’s needing our care. This is truly a unique patch of life for us and it is often complicated and heart wrenching….and as you said, as much so as when they were raising us. I do my part joyfully, (though there are parts that are hard) and admit I am somewhat sickened by unsaved family who would rather not be bothered by any inconvenience.

    Reply
  7. Ashley Pederson

    Your mom looks like such a sweetie! I also wanted to say that I really enjoyed this post. As I read through your words I couldn’t help but think about a great book that I just recently finished reading “Rich in Years” by Johann Christoph Arnold http://www.richinyears.com. It is a book for both the aging and for the caregivers. It talks about what the Bible and spiritual masters through the ages teach about growing old. As you pointed out, it is sad that there are those out there who do not feel it is their responsibility to help the elderly. We are to help those going through the challenges of aging, and when it is our turn, we can embrace it and live it to the fullest!

    Reply
  8. Ann

    Your Momma is beautiful! My own Mom has been there for me my whole life (and I’m not a youngster!) and I am so blessed to be able to give back to her now. Though tiring at times, I wouldn’t trade these times for anything because I know it is what Jesus would do if He were here. Wait a minute, He is here 🙂 Blessings to you and your Momma!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

