Stand Still ~ God’s Wonders in a Dragonfly

Dragonfly perchedStand still and consider the wondrous works of God
Job 37:14

God blows me away with the wonders of His creation.  We find evidences of His designs in the simplest of things, like a dragonfly.  Often, to appreciate these examples of God’s creation, we have to stand very still.  It helps even further when our subject remains still!

I discovered this little friend while on my way to the mailbox the other day.  Not at all convinced that he would stay long enough for me to retrieve my camera, I went inside to get it anyway.  When I returned, I was pleasantly surprised to see him still there, perched atop a Little Gem Magnolia leaf.  What I didn’t expect was how still he remained, and how he seemed to playfully pose.  (I have no idea whether this dragonfly was male or female; supposedly, males are brighter in color.  Unless some of you know different, and can let me know, I’ll just call this one a he).  

I hope you enjoy the photos as much as I did snapping them!  

It looked like he stuck his tongue out at me

It looked like he stuck his tongue out at me ~ cracked me up!

Still lovely at a distance

Poised for takeoff ~ he did hop from one leaf to another

One final glimpse

One last glimpse before he tired of our photo shoot and left

For other similar posts, see Heavenly Images

Sue Nash/2013

27 thoughts on “Stand Still ~ God’s Wonders in a Dragonfly

  1. PaperGiftsForEstefany

    What a superb masterpiece of design this little guy is! Too cute! Fabulous pics Sue (I am really enjoying your pics) ~ I like the poised for take off one best. And your story ~ exactly as you wrote it ~ happened to me one day, too. My little guy was bright red. And he did the same thing ~ stayed while I went to get the camera for the photo shoot. I was rapt ~ got some great pics too. : )

    Reply
    1. heavenlyraindrops Post author

      Oh, I would love to see your pictures…you should post them if you haven’t already. I love it when God reveals himself through His creation. Glad you like my photos. I am not a professional, just have a really good hand-me-down camera, but am enjoying the heck out of using it! Blessings

      Reply
  2. Especially Made

    Beautiful! My children are starting to notice dragonflies too when we’re out and about. I feel like I’m re-discovering the beauty of God’s creation through their watchful eyes and curious minds.

    Reply
    1. heavenlyraindrops Post author

      How fun to spend that time with your children. My son has grown out of that stage, but I think there is still an affinity for appreciating the beauty of God’s creation in him. Blessings as you share in this precious stage of their lives.

      Reply
    1. heavenlyraindrops Post author

      Toni, while I appreciate the compliment, I credit the gift of a good camera handed down my way. I love photography but have much to learn. I think these shots turned out nice in terms of showing the intricate features of the dragonfly. It is so amazing how we walk right past God’s glory all day long unawares! Blessings and thanks

      Reply
  3. vonhonnauldt

    Everywhere, God’s creation shows the handiwork of its creator. Love your pictures. We have a robin’s nest on our front porch light. Been a lot of fun watching the activity – and being “scolded” for interrupting it!

    Reply
    1. heavenlyraindrops Post author

      Ha, just read the story about your Robins. I have never seen a Robin’s nest other than pics. I love Bluebird nests with their blue eggs. It is so much fun watching God’s handiwork in action! Thanks and blessings.

      Reply
  4. Rob Barkman

    Hi Sue,
    Once again, I have been enjoying your pictures greatly. The dragonfly brings to my mind how the simple things of creation are such a blessing when we simply take time to stop, notice, and think about them in the context of our Great Creator. How sad it is when I look back on my life and the years that I did not take the time to notice these things. How many blessings I have missed! Even a pastor at times can get so involved in “doing things” that we forget to take time to simply meditate on the wonderful things of the Lord.

    Thanks so much for the much needed uplift. May He continue to bless your ministry here.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Bugs ~ Links | Paper Gifts for Estefany

  6. Pingback: Stand Still ~ Consider God’s Wonders | Heavenly Raindrops Images

Leave a comment